• Felicia Evans

The Ins and Outs of Energy Healing

A holistic practice that activates the body’s subtle “energy systems” to remove “blocks,” energy healing breaks through these energetic detours to stimulate the body’s inherent ability to heal itself.

Before we go any further, the following represent five facts that truly define the EH experience:

• The body’s energy centers have been studied for thousands of years

• This type of healing is based on scientific principles

• Anyone can benefit from this kind of healing

• There are many different types of accessible EH modalities

• Energetic health can be maintained from home

The Chakra Factor

The term “chakras” is often thrown around in yoga classes, and characters in TV shows or films sometimes talk about someone’s “chakra being blocked” if the show or film includes “New Age”-esque characters.

Chakras are a complex and ancient energy system that originated in India, first mentioned in the Vedas – ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating from 1500 to 1000 BC – with the word chakra meaning “wheel” and referring to energy points in the human body. Interestingly, they are believed to be spinning disks of energy that should remain “open” and “aligned,” as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs and areas of our energetic body that affect emotional and physical well-being.

While there are some who adhere to the notion that there are some 114 different types, there are actually seven primary variants that run along the spine – these are the kinds that most of us are referring to when we talk about them.

Each of these has a corresponding number, name, color, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head and health focus; let’s take a brief look at them now:

Root Chakra Located at the base of the spine in the tailbone area; associated color: red; health focus on physical identity, stability, grounding.

Sacral Chakra Located just below the bellybutton, just above the pubic bone; color: orange; health focus on sexuality, pleasure and creativity.

Solar Plexus Chakra Located in the upper abdomen in the stomach area; color: yellow; health focus on self-esteem and confidence.

Heart Chakra Located in the center of the chest just above the heart; color: green; health focus on love and compassion.

Throat Chakra Located in the throat; color: blue; health focus on communication.

Third Eye Chakra Located between the eyes on the forehead; color: indigo; health focus on intuition and imagination.

Crown Chakra Located at the very top of the head; color: violet or white; health focus on awareness and intelligence.

For more information about how EH can change your life, contact Felicia Evans at (505) 702-2601.

21 views0 comments